Notable Quotable: It’s Up To You to Make It Happen


canthardlywait

I waited there outside, and I was the first person when he pulled up. He got out of that car, and he was so beautiful. He looked right at me… and I didn’t know what to do! I mean, I couldn’t say anything, I couldn’t even move. I never even talked to him and he was RIGHT THERE… I still have that red bandanna.

The thing is, you never know, you know? Had I at least said SOMETHING…. you never know.

Anyway, the point is I totally realized, fate! There IS fate. But it only takes you so far, because once you’re there it’s up to you to make it happen.

~Jenna Elfman, Can’t Hardly Wait (1998)

What is fate? What is opportunity? Are they not the same thing? Maybe fate isn’t as complex as a series of events that will always play out regardless of the actions that you take. Maybe fate is just a synonym for opportunity, moments where everything is positioned JUST RIGHT for you to take an action, to move forward. 

Maybe you’ve had opportunities presented to you, time and time again, but you always stuttered. Didn’t leap at the chance.

I’m telling you to fix it.

You now live in a world where you’re not limited by the same constraints of the previous generations. You don’t need a publisher, you don’t need an agent. All you need  to write, is a piece of paper and a pencil (figuratively; Use a damn computer or word processor if you want. Use SOMETHING), and your mind.

Nobody can tell you that your writing is or ISN’T good enough to reach an audience. You have all the control in the world, you have all the time. You just need to find your voice and make it loud enough to get people to hear.

Maybe I’m telling you that you now have that opportunity that you thought you never had.

Maybe I’m telling you that you reading this, was fated.

~Oliver

Leave a Reply

