Customer Service #2: Rabbit in the Road Technical Difficulties


This is a public service announcement. An issue was just reported to me and I want to know if anyone else is experiencing it.

I’m hearing that some copies of Rabbit in the Road are corrupted on their download. Of the two reports that I’ve gotten, one was that the first page of the book repeated 75 times, and the second report is that the book suddenly ends halfway through.

Of the 12,000 units that went out, I have seen 14 units be “refunded”, and I reckon this is that issue manifesting itself.

If you are experiencing bizarre behavior like this, the first thing that pops  into my mind as a solution is to just delete the file itself from your device (do NOT remove it from your account!), and re-download it. So long as you don’t remove it from your account, it SHOULD be perfectly fine and it should re-download CORRECTLY. I’ve personally checked the integrity of the file myself just now, going through it line by line and there’s nothing weird going on there. It appears to be an isolated event (It seems to be happening to 0.11% of the downloads), so I’m pretty certain that this is an issue on Amazon’s end.

Please share this with your friends and what not, and definitely have them use this post to let me know if they experienced any similar issues.

I’ve said it once and I’ll say it again: I am in the business of customer service. I care, WE CARE, and if you’re not happy, WE’RE NOT HAPPY. 

~Oliver

P.S. Thanks for the tip, Bill!

3 comments

  1. update: my wife’s copy shows the first page 75 times on the Kindle Fire, but on the regular Kindle Rabbit is just fine…. more weirdness, I know, but also more info for you..

    1. I bet I know what that is. There’s some kinks on the back end that Amazon has told us about, because of the differences in the OS and the Kindle program for the Fire. Fortunately, there’s also a Kindle 8 (as it is called) previewer that I’ve checked it on and so far it appears to run fine there. I can certainly investigate this with a few other Fire users and see if they have the same thing happen.

Leave a Reply

