The Next Book


Sorry for the lateness in getting back here, folks! As to why we’ve been so quiet lately, I can only say one word and that should thoroughly explain it:

SKYRIM.  

The good news is that the game has been thoroughly beaten and demolished by yours truly, so we’ll be back into the regular full swing of things. Now, let’s talk about that provocative image up there. Do you know what that is? Of course you do.
This right here, is a major piece of the next book that we are writing. During all the Skyrim tomfoolery, Danika and I kind of vegged out a bit, let our minds desaturate from all of the Rabbit in the Road and not having to think about it. But during the course of this, we realized we had hit that big, dreaded writing monster: Writer’s Block.

It was even worse, because we couldn’t figure out WHY we had it, until yesterday evening. We decided to go out to a coffee shop that we hadn’t been to before not too far from our house after taking a walk down there, roughly a mile away. What can I say? We’re terrible hippies and we hate spending money on gas when we have two perfectly good sets of legs to use. For the record, I hated their hot chocolate, but their Pumpkin Pie cake was to DIE for.

Whilst we walked and talked, we came to a conclusion: The only way that we can function, as writers, is to write based around our hatred of tropes and cliches. Specifically, we realized that we’re terrible at writing established ideas, but we’re fantastic at coming up with new ones based on the disdain of overplayed OLD ones.  Looking back over old notes for other writing projects, I can come to the conclusion that this is really true.

But back to the topic at hand. I’d like to point back to one of the first posts that I made here, about not “pushing an agenda.” This is what I believe in, and will continue to stick by. If you think that the Next Book is going to be about some kind of military bashing, I’m sorry to disappoint you. Likewise, if you think it’s about praising the military, I’m sorry to disappoint you. It’s about neither.

Danika and I aren’t about pushing opinions about establishments. We write stories about people. Real people, with real fucked up problems and issues. We write stories about everyone, stories about people with hang-ups, stories about people having to rise to the challenge, be it perceived, real, or otherwise. That’s not going to change.

The Next Book has to do with those same things. And it all starts with that image up there. It was quite interesting really, because I’ve had the idea rattling around in my head for quite some time, months now, but I didn’t have a good wrapping to put around the concept (which I haven’t told you, and won’t). The Purple Heart is what sealed it all in for me.

So, before the questions come pouring in, I’ll tell you the fact sheet that I can talk about so far:

1. The book takes place in the present (within the past 10 years, give or take).
2. It is NOT realistic fiction.
3. It will surprise you.
4. You’ve never seen this before.
5. It is unrelated to anything in Rabbit in the Road.
6. The lead character is male.
7. It will lead you to question what the definition of heroism is.
8. It’s not a superhero story.
9. The body, the mind, and the soul are all integral to the tale.
10. Specifically, the story is about a _________ that loses ___ ___ and has to deal with a _____ that is ______ ____ and trying to ___ ____ __ ____ ___ ___.

Spooked out enough yet? Good. As things go along, just like with Rabbit, we’ll keep constantly updated as we go through the process of telling this new tale.

The real fun part of this for me is… a good deal of people that I personally know, will be called upon during the writing of this book. What can I say, we just happen to know people that fit perfectly into the research requirements needed to tell this story right. Go figure!

~Oliver 

P.S. Yes, I know I’m a stinker.  Also, a clever person would know what the working title is already, if they look hard enough.

4 comments

    1. You caught me. Cat is out of the bag.

      When I’m not writing fiction… I’m a game journalist. My work has been on Kotaku, The Escapist, and EOGamer. Both of us, actually. Just google up “Oliver Campbell Danika Potts video game haiku” and you should see us relatively quickly.

      I finished Skyrim within 5 days, 96 hours of total playtime. So, burning the midnight oil on a video game is standard warfare for me.

Leave a Reply

