One for the Ladies: What Attracts You To A Book Cover?


It’s time for Female Friday! (I made that up just now. Aren’t I clever?)

Myself, Danika, and our cover designer Katie put our heads together a few days ago working on the cover for Rabbit in the Road. Fortunately for me, Katie’s husband Carl was also present at the time, so I was able to bounce ideas in my head off him as well. The good news is that we had an even gender spread (2 women and 2 men). One thing that I quickly realized, however, is that men and women seem to be drawn to book covers for completely different reasons.

So, let’s talk about that. Why don’t you tell ME what attracts you to a book cover? This is a discussion, there are no right or wrong answers, and all opinions are completely valid. Inquiring minds wants to know! Tell me right down in the comments section below, and I’ll be here all day to interact with each and every one of you. You are not yelling into a void, you ARE being heard. So, now would be the time to shout!

-Oliver

9 comments

  1. I like sweet art on the cover of a book–illustration-type art is my favorite. If it looks like something Haruki Murakami wrote, I will be drawn to it like a moth to a bonfire. (Too much?) I also like book covers that are matte instead of glossy.

    This is a crackheaded response, I feel, but my brain is somewhat liquified from my morning workout. So, I’ll end this with a “Hello, nice to meet you!”

    1. Hi!

      This isn’t the first time I’ve heard this. As we knocked our brains together, this is something that we realized. We danced between two separate covers, and the fellas (that is, myself and Carl) REALLY liked the second cover that had plenty of “noise” to it, the one that had lots of background and character.

      The girls, Danika and Katie were more drawn to the simplified, but expressive cover.

      I found this to be quite peculiar!

      Furthermore, I would love to send Insatiable Booksluts a copy of Rabbit in the Road for review. Let me know if that is something that would be interest you, I think this book is right up your alley.

      1. Thanks for thinking of us! We will be taking reader-submitted books in the future to review, but we’re still getting our flow established at the moment. (I’m a regular blogger, but my good friend is new to blogging so I’m helping her get started.) Please keep us in mind for when we start taking submissions, which will probably be after the first of the year, as we are pretty booked up (har har) with book club stuff till the end of the year. 🙂

  2. As I saw this post I looked over at my book shelf of books and decided to pull out a few just to see what they have in common.
    I wouldn’t say they are simple covers yet at the same time they’re not complex. They seem to be fairly balanced with maybe 1 or 2 of the main characters on the front and a simple background (since my books don’t have pictures lol) the background on the cover tends to be like the main scene setting or at least that’s how I seem to see it.

  3. I’d have to say I preffeer simple covers mostly with a reason for the imagery something that is supposed to stick out from the books story. Not plain covers but to much busy activity I thinks takes away from a cover you don’t get as much of a feel for that first impressio

    1. (Sorry double post my crazy phones enter registers way to sensitive and close to the period touch screen spot)

      First impression that you want of a book. I like to read a book and after getting a feel for the main characters be able to look back at the cover and see/feel that individual character or moment.

Leave a Reply

